Nobel prize winners donate their prize money for research scholars

indica News Bureau-

Nobel laureates Abhijit Vinayak Banerjee, Esther Duflo and Michael Kremer, who won the prestigious
award for Economics, have announced that they will donate their prize money to the Weiss Fund and
work on a support base system to fund brilliant researchers from poor countries. Their total prize
money will amount to USD 916,000 (Rs 6.5 crore), approximately, which will be given to scholars as
research grants till 2035.

The news reported in Associated Press was confirmed when other media channels spoke to Banerjee
about his plans to build platforms for researchers from poor countries.

“We are happy to donate our prize money in shaping dreams of young economists through the Weiss
Fund for research. We are also planning to work on helping some of the brilliant researchers from
various poor countries so that they can give their best in this global competition (Nobel)", said Banerjee,
speaking to News 18.

Banerjee, along with his wife Esther Duflo and Michael Kremer won the 2019 Sveriges Riksbank Prize in
Economic Sciences for their experimental approach to alleviating global poverty.
“I want that more and more researchers should come up with ideas on how the problem of poverty can
be tackled by going deep in to the problem. I think it is our responsibility to stand besides those mainly
from the poor countries to work on this (on poverty eradication),” Banerjee said.