Vivek Lall of General Atomics gets IACC Entrepreneur Leadership Award

iNDICA News Bureau-

General Atomics Global Corporation CEO Vivek Lall has been conferred with the prestigious Entrepreneur Leadership Award of the Indo-American Chamber of Commerce (IACC) for his contribution to the defense sector.

Established in 1968, the IACC is the apex bilateral chamber helping to find synergies in India-U.S. economic engagement. Lall, 53, was selected for the award in the defense and aviation category.

The awards were given away at a virtual ceremony by India’s Civil Aviation Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia Friday April 22.

Born in Indonesia, Vivek Lall had his technical education at Carleton University in Canada, where he earned a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering.

He worked for Canada’s National Aeronautical Establishment on single-engine blade research and received his master’s degree in aeronautical engineering from Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University in Florida.

After completing his master’s degree, Lall worked at NASA’s Ames Research Center before going to Wichita State University in Kansas to complete his PhD in aerospace engineering.

In 1996, he joined the Boeing Company as an aerospace engineer and was promoted seven years later to managing director for Boeing Commercial Airplanes in Delhi, India.

In May 2007, Lall joined Boeing Defense Space & Security as vice-president and country head for India.

He became vice-president of aeronautics strategy and business development at Lockheed Martin in 2018. He has been chief executive of General Atomics Global Corporation since June 2020. He was among the CEOs who met India’s Prime Minister Narendra Modi during the latter’s trip to Washington, DC, in September last year.

Lall also serves on the board of the Center for Advancing Global Business at San Diego State University and as senior advisor to the University of California San Diego’s Center for Commerce and Diplomacy.

Lall was recently honored by the governor of Kentucky as a Kentucky colonel, the highest title of honor bestowed by the state and among the best-known honorary colonelcies conferred by U.S. governors. Presidents George HW Bush, Ronald Reagan, Jimmy Carter and Lyndon B Johnson are some others who have received this honor.