Indian American technologist Prof Arogyaswami Paulraj awarded prestigious Faraday Medal


Indian American academic Arogyaswami Paulraj, Stanford University Professor Emeritus and Celesta Capital Advisor has been conferred with the 2023 Faraday Medal award in London by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), that honors engineers and technologists from across the world.

The Faraday Medal is one of the world’s most prestigious awards for engineers and scientists who advance technologies with global impact.

The ceremony was held in London this past weekend and Dr. Paulraj became the 100th recipient of the medal for his contributions to wireless technology.

Prof Paulraj has been honored for his invention, advancement, and commercialization of Multiple-antenna Input, Multiple-antenna Output (MIMO) wireless technology.

MIMO is a fundamental breakthrough technology that multiplies the link speed and improves the range and reliability of wireless networks. The performance of today’s extensive 4G/5G mobile and WiFi networks would not be possible without MIMO.

The IET Achievement Awards recognize individuals from all over the world who have made exceptional contributions to the advancement of engineering, technology, and science in any sector. The contributions can be through research and development in their respective technical field or through their leadership of an enterprise.

The Achievement Awards are part of the IET’s Awards and Scholarships program, which celebrate excellence and research in the sector and encourage the next generation of engineers and technicians.

All IET awards seek to inspire and reward engineering excellence, including apprentices at the start of their careers, through to reputable, established professional engineers and technicians. First awarded in 1922 to Oliver Heaviside, the Faraday Medal is the longest-standing global recognition in science and technology.

Born in Pollachi, Tamil Nadu, India, in 1944, Prof Paulraj joined the Indian Navy at age 16 and was commissioned in 1965. He served for 25 years before moving to Stanford University.

On winning his award, Paulraj said: “The Faraday Medal is such an honour. I am humbled to be included in this distinguished cohort of former recipients. Though the prize is presented to an individual, it also recognizes the field of wireless communications systems and the thousands of researchers and engineers who contributed to MIMO technology for the benefit of humanity.”

Paulraj’s contributions in India between 1965 and 1991 included the development of ASW sonar systems and high-performance computers and the founding of three national laboratories spanning AI, Computing, and Military Electronics.

He has also authored and co-authored over 400 research papers and is a co-inventor in 80 US patents.

Dr. Gopichand Katragadda, IET President, emphasized the importance of Engineering Excellence achieved through knowing and practicing the fundamentals, being systems-oriented and detailed, and having a delivery mindset while preparing for the next.

“We’re honored to present these talented individuals with our Achievement Awards. Our medal winners are innovators and pioneers, making a difference in the world in which we live. The apprentices and technicians recognized and awarded are fantastic, already achieving great things in their careers and inspiring others around them. They should all be proud of their achievements – they are incredible role models for the next generation,” he said.