Indian American wins Ripple of Hope Award


The 2021 winners of the Ripple of Hope Award was announced by Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights on Thursday, October 7. The award was presented to five outstanding individuals and among them is an Indian American.

Deven Parekh, the managing director of Perception Companions’ Indian American managing director joins a remarkable line-up of honorees: poet Amanda Gorman; political leader, entrepreneur, and author, Stacey Abrams; co-founder and managing partner of Clearlake Capital, José E. Feliciano; and chairman and CEO of Verizon, Hans Vestberg.

This year’s winners, united by their uncompromising integrity and resilience in striving for an inclusive America, have each championed the causes and concerns of the underrepresented and marginalized.

Their tireless efforts in service of the public good—from within global companies to the national political stage—reflect Robert Kennedy’s passion for equality, justice, and the power of individual action to establish meaningful reform.

“Since becoming a member of Perception Companions in 2000, Parekh has been a vocal advocate for alternative and inclusion, initiating efforts to advertise ladies and minority leaders throughout Perception’s inner crew, portfolio, and the broader software program and funding ecosystems as an entire,” noted Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights.

All five laureates will be honored at a hybrid ceremony on Thursday, December 9, featuring keynote speaker Vice President Kamala Harris. As the first woman and first woman of color to serve as vice president, Harris has broken barriers and served as a leading voice on the impact of race on health care, access to voting, and the criminal legal system.

“We’re honored that Vice President Harris and Amanda Gorman will join Stacey, Hans, José, and Deven in our Ripple of Hope Award ceremony for 2021,” said Kerry Kennedy, president of Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights.

“Their leadership and poise have inspired countless people, especially young women of color, to rise up and make their voices heard and we are thrilled to recognize such extraordinary changemakers. We look forward to celebrating our five honorees and hearing the Vice President’s remarks.”

Parekh is a member of the board of directors for several institutions, including the US Development Finance Corporation, the Council on Foreign Relations, the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, and NYU Langone.

He is also chairman emeritus of the board of Publicolor, a nonprofit organization focused on New York City public schools. In 2006, Parekh was named a Henry Crown Fellow of the Aspen Institute, which seeks to develop the next generation of community-spirited leaders.

Since 1968, the Ripple of Hope Award has celebrated exemplary leaders across business, government, advocacy, and entertainment who have demonstrated a commitment to social progress and advancing human rights.

Previous winners of the Ripple of Hope Award include Barack Obama, Tim Cook, Dolores Huerta, Desmond Tutu, Colin Kaepernick, Hillary Clinton, John Lewis, Bono, Dr. Anthony Fauci, Nancy Pelosi, Robert F. Smith, Wyclef Jean, and Joe Biden.